file(blocks) unlimited
data(kbytes) unlimited
stack(kbytes) unlimited
coredump(blocks) unlimited
nofiles(descriptors) 1024
vmemory(kbytes) unlimited

Please advice on what needs yo be done

Hi,

What are the contents of "/etc/security/limits.conf", you should be able to change this to the required value. You will have to log out and back in again.

You may also be able to run ulimit -n 4096 or something similar as the root user.

Regards

Gull04

I dont see any limits.conf file in /etc/security, also i dont want to give the user root privileges.Can anything else be done to solve the issue?

Hi,

Yes, the root user can set the privileges for the user with the ulimit command.

Regards

Gull04

Can you please give me the command to be run ? I am sorry i am a newbie , and also can u explain what the command will do ? Thanks in advance for ur help.:)

Hi,

To give an exact command, I'd need to know what OS I'm dealing with at the very least.

Regards

Gull04

Can you please give me the command to be run ? I am sorry i am a newbie , and also can u explain what the command will do ? Thanks in advance for ur help.:)

Hi,

Can you post the output of;

grep rlim_fd /etc/system

Regards

Gull04

root@server10 # grep rlim_fd /etc/system
root@server10 #

Hello ,

Its not returning any output.

[NOPARSE][/NOPARSE]

Hi,

What you will have to do is set the limits in the /etc/system file. So if you edit the file and add the following in the file.

rlim_fd_max=8192
rlim_fd_cur=2048

The system will then have to be rebooted for Solaris to pickup these values.

Regards

Gull04

Ok so then will the issue be sorted ? Thanks in advance. [NOPARSE][/NOPARSE]

Hi,

Hopefully it will run, but it is failing because it has reached a limit - there is always the possibility that it will go further and fail when it hits an other limit.

Regards

Gull04