Problems insalling aix 4.3

Hello, I am an AIX newbie and I am having some difficulties installing 4.3. I need the installation to be 4.3, nothing newer, because that is a customer requirement. I did an initial install and just chose a default installation, but that has filled up the /usr to 100% and I'd just like to start over and set the partitions myself.

However, I have been unable to get the install program to start again. I tried to use the websm utility to do an overwrite install, but that seems to only load the system from the hard drive again.

I also have tried to do the install from the menu where you can select boot order sequence, ok prompt and a couple other options, including an install from option. However selecting install from CD only seems to produce a cryptic error message of 20ee000c. There is also another error # that comes up when the server is booting up from disk.

The server is an ibm rs6000 server.

Any help would be appreciated.

Scott

RS6000 is only a brand name what is the model number 43P 44P F50 this should be on the machine somewhere, usually on the front. You will probably need to access the SMS menu but that will have to wait until we know what the model is.

Hi johnf,

The model number reads 7046-B50.

Scott

OK You will need to access the SMS menu. As the machine boots up and if you are using an LFT (Not a serial terminal as the console) you will see the various drivers load up along the bottom of the screen. At this point start pressing the F1 key to start SMS. Inside the SMS system you will find amongst other things the boot order of the machine. The likelihood is that the CD drive is not even in this. Change the order so as to boot off the CD first and HD0 second. This should solve your problem.

I have just noticed that you appear to have done this anyway. Check then that the CD is the first device. Better still take HD0 out altogether! Make sure you are doing this from inside the SMS menu!