(probably stupidly simple) if [ $var1 = $var2 ] problem...

OK, while I'm not new to the Mac or some of the the inner workings of Mac OS X I am quite new to scripting. And while I have "Learning the Bash Shell" by those lovely people at O'Reilly (Cameron Newham et. al.) I'm missing something, I just know I am.

Here's the problem:

At the beginning of my script I declare 2 variables:

#Uncomment the next line for log lines to be timestamped with the server's local time (BST, GMT, etc.)
timestamp=$(date)

#Uncomment the next line for log lines to be timestamped with UTC (Universal Coordinated Time)
#timestamp=$(date -u)

Then, later I want to log which type of timestamp is being used, so I tried every variation I could think of on:

if [ $timestamp=date ]
	then
		echo -e $timestamp "\tLogging using Server's Local Time" >> /path/to/logfile.log
	else
		if [ $timestamp=date -u ]
			then
				echo -e $timestamp "\tLogging using UTC" >> /path/to/logfile.log
			else
				echo -e $timestamp "\tI don't know what timestamp I'm logging with, but I'll carry on" >> /path/to/logfile.log
		fi
fi

My problem occurs at the [ $timestamp=date ] and [ $timestamp=date -u ] bits. It fails numerous ways and the best I've got is where it logs both "Logging using Server's Local Time" AND "Logging using UTC".

I've tried various combinations of:

[ $timestamp=date ] #btw, single brackets invariably end up in a 'too many arguments' complaint from the shell
[ $timestamp='date' ]
[[ $timestamp=$(date) ]]

etc...

I also tried this

fndate()
{
date
return $fndatevar
}

(and one for date -u)

and then using them like:

if [ $timestamp=$fndatevar ]

etc.

Still no joy

... I could go on. But at 03:00 this morning I decided to go to bed and ask. So here I am, asking.