Piping fails in locale other than English

Hi,

I am new to shell scripting and unix in general, and I am running into a problem.

I need to grep my script for a line which is a delimiter for an encoded file. I would like to get the line number of this delimiter so that i can use "tail" to get the encoded data and decode it.

I am piping the output of my "grep -n" command into the cut command in order to get the line number. This works when the locale is "C" or "en_US." However, when I change the locale to "cs_CZ" for example, this fails.

PAX_PAYLOAD: is the delimeter.

payload_marker_line=$(grep -n '^PAX_PAYLOAD:$' $0 | cut -d ':' -f 1)
payload_start=$((payload_marker_line + 1))

I am getting this error.

grep: input file "|": EDC5129I No such file or directory.
grep: input file "cut": EDC5129I No such file or directory.
grep: input file "-d": EDC5129I No such file or directory.
grep: input file ":": EDC5129I No such file or directory.
grep: input file "-f": EDC5129I No such file or directory.
grep: input file "1": EDC5129I No such file or directory.

Is there any reason that | is being associated with a file name??

Thank you for any and all help!!

What's your system? What's your shell?

I'm running on z/OS using an sh shell.

$0 is the name of the script you are running, not the parameter

ex:

# myscript.sh
echo "the code executing this is $0"
echo "my first parameter is $1"
$>  ./myscript.sh  t.lis
the code executing this is ./myscript.sh
my first parameter is t.lis
$> 

right. The encoded file is appended to the end of the script I am running.

You should not append to a running script. Period. You append to an output file.
When you execute a shell script, it should remain unchanged during the run.

If that is what you meant....

Ah. Thanks for the tip. I will keep that in mind.

I removed the encoded file into its own file, yet I am still having the same issue whenever a piping symbol is reached. it says:

|: EDC5129I No such file or directory.