perl newbie . &&..programming newbie

Hi,

I am new to programming and also to perl..But i know 'perl' can come to my rescue, But I am stuck at many places and need help..any small help is much appreciated... below is the description of what i intend to acheive with my script.

I have a files named in this format 01112008_abcd_xyz.dat (100s of such files) and they are presently in the following directory C:/Doc and settings/myname/rawdata/*.dat

My script has to acheive
creation of folder C:/Doc and settings/myname/rawdata/abcd/011112008/*.dat
so folders have to be created according to part of a name of the .dat files, that i have..then transfer the respective *.dat files inside those folders

Plssss help :frowning: lastly I am using Windows ..thanks
xytiz

split the filename on _ so you get the middle part and the first part. use module like File::Path or Perl's internal mkdir to create directories.

use File::Path;
while(<*.dat>){
  @l = split /_/,$_;  
  mkpath(...); # see the doc of File::Path for usage
  # or mkdir()
}

read the documentation? There are only so many hours in the day and I have partying to do..... :wink:

Hey ghostDog,

Thanks for the reply.. I have now got to a stage where i have the folder abcd in place but i need to create abcd/011112008/*.dat ..so i used opendir to go inside "abcd" folder and again call makedir function i have written but i think I need to set the o/p put path unlike windows where you open the dir and do create dir :slight_smile: ..

Again thanks for your help ..any further inputs on this will be very helpful...

xytiz

i dont' really understand what you want to do. if you want to create multiple directory levels, mkpath should be ok. read the docs for File::Path and see examples of how to use mkpath.

Hi ghostDog,

My question was i am unable to create multiple directories :frowning:
below is my code mkpath does not help much either..I have tried few things like "\" and "//" and "\ /" nothing seem to work ...

sub makeDir