NIS Automounts not mounting

Hello all,
I have a Solaris 10 SPARC server that crashed a couple of weeks ago and I finally got it up the other day. I am having some problems getting my NIS automounts to work though. It appears that NIS is working, but the /home directories are not mounting and users can not log in (I can log in with root from a thin client remotely). This is my primary server that runs everything for a couple thin clients running off of it. I don't know if I really need NIS (I am new to it), but it is how the server was configured before I started working here.

I ran a few commands to check if NIS is working and got this:

# ypwhich
mdc1

which is my server, so it recognizes that NIS is working.

# ypmatch adam passwd
adam:$1$JLcVC9OC$m297M2r/u5FT4Sajcj/7t1:1047:1:Adam:/home/adam:/bin/tcsh

so it appears to know how to get my log in credentials

# ypmatch adam auto.home
mdc1:/pool/home/adam

and that is where the my home directory is physically located at. I don't know if it is worth noting, but if I do ypmatch adam auto_home it does not find a map, I have not seen any files named auto.home on my server.

Before the crash the NIS automounts would map the home directories from /pool/home/adam to /home/adam. /pool/home which is shared out with the dfstab.

This is the output of my /etc/auto_master file:

#
# Copyright 2003 Sun Microsystems, Inc.  All rights reserved.
# Use is subject to license terms.
#
# ident	"@(#)auto_master	1.8	03/04/28 SMI"
#
# Master map for automounter
#
+auto_master
/net		-hosts		-nosuid,nobrowse
/home		auto_home	-nobrowse

and my /etc/auto_home file:

#
#
# ident	"@(#)auto_home	1.6	03/04/28 SMI"
#
# Home directory map for automounter
#
+auto_home

One thing I found different on this server is that the yp directory with all the auto_* files is in /export/home/opt/yp (I believe due to storage limitations). I don't know if this is my problem, just though it may be relevant in helping troubleshoot.