Newbie question

Dear all,

I have a question related to parallel programing and if you can give me some hints on how to deal with it, it would be really great.

I would like to run a small application on a supercompter of 128 CPUs. Unfortunately, on this machine only jobs which require 32 CPUs are allowed to run. My applications are, however, scalling only up to 16 CPUs. If I require 32 CPUs, the job will not run as I do not have enough data to fill the CPUs.

I think that maybe it is possible to submit, instead of a job on 32 CPUs, 2 jobs - each on 16 CPUs. This would mean that a master script (in MPI, probably) should ask at the begining for 32 CPUs, and then divide this partition into two smaller ones (of 16 CPUs), on each of them starting a different application (from a different directory).

As I have no experience with parallel programing I do not know to do this. Is it possible to give some hints on how to do it. (I do not expect someone to do the work in my place, but I need some hints to get start with, as possible keyword to use, etc).

Many thanks for any answer.

With all the best wishes,
Eduard

Disclaimer: It's been a while since I have used parallel machines so I cannot remember details, but since nobody else has answered yet I'll have a go.

Now, your supercomputer might be set up differently, but every one I have ever used
uses a job submission system like PBS or NQS. You write a script with commands for the particular job submission system you are using (N.B. MPI is the parallel communications library, not a scripting language). You need to check whether this system allows you to subdivide a 32-node partition and run on each subdvision.