Need help with script.

Hi:

I am using linux and trying to format logs. I have grepped for stuff like invalid users and /or error. However, the way the logs are formatted, sometimes the full error is not on the line, ie. it is on the next line. If I grep something, like:
cat /var/spool/mail/* |grep -i session |awk '{print $5}'
The information I want is in the log on the next line. Is there a way to get the following lines anyone can think of? Thanks so much for your help in advance.
Henry

You could try

awk '/error/{_=2}_&&_--' /var/spool/mail/*

Can you post a sample log file.

this is a small snippet Dan.

Illegal users from:
192.168.42.22 (impala.snas-net): 1 time

Unmatched Entries
pam_succeed_if(sshd:auth): error retrieving information about user henry : 1 time(s)

If I cat for illegal, I don't find out where the 'illegal' is coming from because the actual ip is on the next line. Or the next line, where I grep for unmatched but don't get the user Henry.

I'm fairly new to scripting or not very knowledgeable at this time. Thanks.

---------- Post updated at 12:57 PM ---------- Previous update was at 12:50 PM ----------

Here is another sample of the log where I want to grab the second line following the line I grepped for.

sshd:
Authentication Failures:
unknown (impala.snas-net): 1 Time(s)
Invalid Users:
Unknown Account: 1 Time(s)

I haven't been able to figure out how to insert a variable into the search field, or I'd provide that example... Here's something that will return the line that matches your search string AND the line that follows immediately afterward.

#!/bin/sh

/usr/xpg4/bin/awk '/Illegal users/{_=2}_&&_--' /var/spool/mail/*
/usr/xpg4/bin/awk '/Unmatched Entries/{_=2}_&&_--' /var/spool/mail/*
/usr/xpg4/bin/awk '/Authentication Failures/{_=2}_&&_--' /var/spool/mail/*
/usr/xpg4/bin/awk '/Invalid Users/{_=2}_&&_--' /var/spool/mail/*

You might pass the log file in as an argument - so that it's not always checking the /var/spool/mail directory.