Need a ksh scripting tool

Hi guys,
I am new in Unix/linux field. I need a >>tool which is running on windows xp and provide the >>Korn shell scripting environment.
As I used cygvin, but it is bash shell and most of the command of unix is not supported by cygwin.:confused:
please suggest..... :slight_smile:
thanks in advance.........

I believe pdksh is available from cygwin

1 Like

You can use original ksh93 also in cygwin.
Download

1 Like

Try Microsoft Services For Unix: http://www.microsoft.com/downloads/en/details.aspx?FamilyID=896c9688-601b-44f1-81a4-02878ff11778

1 Like

Interestingly, David Korn (the k in ksh) developed a cygwin like solution which includes ksh as default shell: uwin

1 Like

I'm surprised you say most of the unix command are not supported by cygwin. I've found it quite a good environment to play around with unix commands.

If the output of a cygwin commands is different to my destination unix platform (good example here is the ps -ef output). I run the command on unix and save the output to a file - I can then process this in my cygwin script and slot the actual ps command in before doing the beta testing on unix.

1 Like

thanks guys...
I am working on your suggestions ....
If I comfortable with any >tool , I let you know...
thanks again... :wink:

---------- Post updated at 11:30 PM ---------- Previous update was at 11:20 PM ----------

hi Chubler_XL
as i used CYGWIN, it is not supporting the 'clear' command....
so i searched, nd wnt for "https://rubenlaguna.com/post/2007-09-26-bash-clear-command-not-found/ " this solution but not worked.. tell me how do i fix this ??

Install Ubuntu or SuSe and use it.....

Really I have used cygwin X and it works for most things. But If I really want to know I use a UNIX system.

Chubler_XL hmm my cygwin install does clear ok. did you try tput clear. Maybe just missing the alias for it.