my first shell script

Hey guys,

i am completely new to shell scripting. i have a problem which i am unable to resolve. here is what i did. i use cygwin on my computer

i opened vi editor and wrote my first shell script

#!/bin/bash
#SS1
#Usage:SS1
ls

i came back on console and ran this command :
$ SS1

I got an error bash : command not found.

This whole situation might sound really dumb , but please understand that i am completely new to cygwin.

thanks
Arsenalboy

As it's your first shell script...

try

./SS1

Your PATH probably does not contain the current directory. Type

echo $PATH

to see your full PATH

To execute your script try

./SSI

As it was the guy's first shell script, I didn't want to confuse him with paths and stuff.

But I don't know cygwin much, and I don't know if he needs to chmod the file first, otherwise we're looking at

chmod 755 SS1
./SS1

or

bash ./SS1

It can all get a bit much.

Also, setting the executable bit by running

chmod u+x SS1

might help

i opened vi editor and wrote my first shell script and saved it as SS1.sh

#!/bin/bash
#SS1
#Usage:SS1
ls

--came back onto console and tried the following
./SS1.sh
SS1.sh

Note: the shell script is stored on my D drive D:/scripts and the console on cygwin also points to the same folder D:/scripts

I tried echo $PATH and this is what i get