monitoring various things (mainly activity) on different unix boxes

Hi there,

I want to ask you guys what you think about my problem.
I work as a sysadmin on about 7000 workstations or so and to save money and energy, we've decided to switch off as many workstations as possible during the night (probably by shutting it down by cron and power it on by WakeOnLAN).
We're also planning to develop a custom portal to let users choose if the workstation they're using cannot be shut down.

All of this is currently under discussion, and for now I need to report the nightly activity on a selection of workstations (RHEL4, RHEL5 and HP-UX 11.11), here is what I need :

• monitor if there's local user logged on the workstation
  • monitor if there's remote user logged on the workstation
  • activity of those users if applicable
  • process running

Of course I first thought about the "ps -ef" and the "who" commands but there's about 50 workstations to monitor (during 2 weeks or so) and I'm not really a shell script guru and of course data collected must be compiled easily for me to report...

What do you think is the best option ?

Thanks

If you just need a minimalist output of who are logged in and load, then uptime or w are your friend
e.g.

gech:/home/vbe $ rsh ant -n w
connect to address 10.XXX.YYY.2 port 544: Connection refused
Trying krb4 rsh...
connect to address 10.XXX.YYY.2 port 544: Connection refused
trying normal rsh (/usr/bin/rsh)
  5:07pm  up 24 days,  5:59,  7 users,  load average: 0.01, 0.01, 0.01
User     tty           login@  idle   JCPU   PCPU  what
vbe      pts/0        11:16am581:49 119:10 119:10  top
vbe      pts/1        11:17am192:07                ssh us99
vbe      pts/2         3:32pm192:57                ksh
vbe      pts/3         4:30pm  1:25                more case_usage_001.txt
vbe      pts/4         3:24pm  5:52                ksh
vbe      pts/5         3:25pm            1      1  -ksh
vbe      pts/6         2:25pm                      more -s