Interactive shell through a pipe

I'm new to working with pipes, so I don't know whether the following is expected behaviour or a bug on the part of an application.

Since Version 0.47, Inkscape provides a non-GUI interactive shell mode of operation. I am trying to time the program's performance in converting SVG files to PNG images and compare this to other apps. Inkscape expects a line of optional arguments and a file name to be delivered to its command prompt. (see the bottom part of Chapter 24. Using the Command Line for an example how it works) I am using a named pipe for delivering these lines. My benchmarking scripts are these:

svgbench.sh

#!/bin/bash

export BASEDIR=~/PNGs
export SVGDIR=$BASEDIR/svg
export SCRDIR=$BASEDIR/scripts
export WIDTH=600

mkfifo in.fifo
mkfifo out.fifo
inkscape --shell <in.fifo >>out.fifo 2>>$SCRDIR/error &
                                           # start Inkscape in shell mode
                                           # and link stdin and stdout to named pipes

i=1
while [ $i -le 5 ]                         # multiple runs through all tested apps
do
    echo "Inkscape-shell" >>$SCRDIR/error  # time Inkscape
    /usr/bin/time --format 'Inkscape-shell     %e\t%U\t%S' -a --output=$SCRDIR/times $SCRDIR/inkscape-shell.sh
    echo "Rsvg" >>$SCRDIR/error            # time Gnome's librsvg
    /usr/bin/time --format 'rsvg               %e\t%U\t%S' -a --output=$SCRDIR/times $SCRDIR/rsvg.sh
    echo "" >> $SCRDIR/times
    i=`expr $i + 1`
done

echo "quit" >> in.fifo                     # quit Inkscape
rm in.fifo
rm out.fifo

inkscape-shell.sh

#!/bin/bash

for TESTFILE in `ls $SVGDIR`   # get a list of test files
do
    echo $TESTFILE " ">>$SCRDIR/error
    OUTFILE=$(basename $TESTFILE .svg).png
    TESTFILE=$SVGDIR/$TESTFILE
    echo "-w $WIDTH -y 0.0 -e $BASEDIR/inkscape1/$OUTFILE $TESTFILE"
                               # command line for Inkscape
    read -sd ">" < out.fifo    # wait until input prompt gets thrown back