Incredibly inefficient cat | grep script

Hi there,

I have 2 files that I am trying to work on.

File 1 contains a reference list of unique subscriber numbers ( 7 million entries in total)

File 2 contains a list of the subscriber numbers and their tariff (15 million entries in total). This file is in the production system and hasn't had old subscribers removed for some time so more than half of the entries need removed.

I created the following couple of lines to try to obtain the active 7 million subscriber numbers and tariffs from the behemoth 15 million list

cat accurate_list.csv | while read ref
> do
> grep $ref production_list.csv >> new_msisdn_list.csv
> done

While this is actually working, it's only producing around 20 entries per second, which will take days to complete.

I'm afraid I'm a complete noob and can't come up with anything more inventive. I'm sure awk/sed/perl or probably any other number of languages would be perfect for something like this.

Anyway any suggestions are gratefully received.

Thanks
Cludgie

What's the exact contents of each file?

Right now, you're literally running millions of greps, comparing each ID to every other ID. That's a huge waste of time, obviously. You only really need to compare each ID to itself.

Because it seems to me that you're just looking for IDs that are in both files. If each ID only occurs once in each file, pull the IDs out of each file, combine them into one file, sort them, and only count IDs that are duplicated in the combined file.

Or you can figure out how to use the "join" utility, though that may not be any faster than what you're already doing, although it does have the huge advantage of not having to fork() and exec() a new process millions of times.

Normally,

grep -f accurate_list.csv  production_list.csv

would be ideally fitted for the job, but I'm afraid the sheer numbers will blast it.