Ignore .txt in find script

Hi
i am really new to linux scripting and i need a little bit help.

i have the following script:

find "/usr/share/nextcloud/data/__groupfolders" -type f -mtime +14 -exec rm {} \;

but i don't want to delete everything. I want to ignore .txt files. How can i do this?

First of all, you should never run a script like this with -exec rm {} until you have tested it without the -exec rm {} ;

So first, think about:

find "/usr/share/nextcloud/data/__groupfolders" -type f -mtime +14 

and add the necessary arguments to find to ignore all .txt files

Try a few things, and test first and post back what you think is a good way to do it :wink:

Hint: Maybe try to add:

! -name "*.txt"

Yeah the script is running on a productiv Nextcloud in the testing phase i first tryed it with ls and after that i specified a folder in __groupfolders whitch could be deleted without worry of loosing something. The Script works fine like it is. Im going to try everything again with the ls. thx for your help

------ Post updated at 07:16 AM ------

thx man it is working you are top! You safed my day ;D

find "/usr/share/nextcloud/data/__groupfolders/28" -type f -mtime +14 ! -name "*.txt" -ls

Thanks but you could have easily discovered the ! -name flags for find looking at the man page examples:

cd /source-dir
       find . -name .snapshot -prune -o \( \! -name *~ -print0 \)|
       cpio -pmd0 /dest-dir

See also:

The following operands are supported:

path	       A path name of a starting point in the directory hierarchy.

expression      The first argument that starts with a -, or is a ! or a (, and all  subsequent  arguments  are
		       interpreted as an expression made up of the following primaries and operators. In the descrip-
		       tions, wherever n is used as a primary argument,  it  is  interpreted  as  a  decimal  integer
		       optionally preceded by a plus (+) or minus (-) sign, as follows:

+n	more than n

n	exactly n

-n	less than n