IF && statement problem

Hello there,

My first time on the forums, glad to be here :slight_smile:

I'm completely new to programming in PHP and I have a question which I hope someone could help me with.

I am currently using this statement:

if(($session['cid'] == 2) && ($item['type'] == Dagger) && ($item2['type'] == Dagger)){
              $DualWield=", equip='10'";

I want it to also include this statement below to the above code:

($item['type'] == Fist Weapon) && ($item2['type'] == Fist Weapon)

I tried:

if(($session['cid'] == 2) && ($item['type'] == Dagger) && ($item2['type'] == Dagger)) || (($session['cid'] == 2) && ($item['type'] == Fist Weapon) && ($item2['type'] == Fist Weapon)) {

But I got a

Parse error:  syntax error, unexpected T_BOOLEAN_OR

Can anyone here help me and tell me how the above statement should be written? :slight_smile:

I suspect you can't do

if (expr) bool (expr)

in php. Try the following instead:

if (($session['cid'] == 2) && (($item['type'] == DAGGER) && ($item2['type'] == DAGGER)) || 
    (($item['type'] == FIST WEAPON) && ($item2['type']== FIST WEAPON)))

Andrew

Hi Andrew,

Thanks for offering to help, I tried using the statement rewrite you listed:

if(($session['cid'] == 2) && (($item['type'] == DAGGER) && ($item2['type'] == DAGGER)) || (($item['type'] == FIST WEAPON) && ($item2['type']== FIST WEAPON))){

but still no go, it gave me this error:

Parse error: syntax error, unexpected T_STRING on that line

Any suggestions?

What are 'Dagger' and 'Fist Weapon' anyway - variables, constants, strings? I noticed, but ignored, the fact that 'Fist weapon' had a space in it. If it is a variable then how did you get this far? If it is a string literal, ie you are looking for the word "dagger" in $item['type'] then you need to quote these strings. Knowing what you are doing here will help.

Andrew

Thanks for replying to my thread Andrew.