IBM rs/6000 7026-c2

I have just purchased an old IBM RS/6000 7026-C2 with the intention of installing AIX 5.2 to do some testing.
I have no AIX or RS/6000 experience, but I have managed to access the console/service menu through a hyper terminal console via the com port.
I get the service processor menu and I can't seem to get past that, it goes into all the sub menus, but if I select power on or power off it does nothing.
I have a 7 disc set of AIX 5.2, but the server doesn't boot from the CD, would I need some sort of floppy boot disk or can I start an install from the service menu in the console?

I would select the power on option and wait for a few minutes. You should get output from the POST (Power On Self Test) displayed as sets of numbers.

How far does it get?

Robin

I will give that a try when I'm back in the office on thursday and let you know the result. I did try the power on and power off, but only waited about a minute at the most before trying something else from the menu.

This link might help you. Do not worry if this is not your exact model, the M80/H50/M50/H50 were quite similar in handling.

Check the firmware release(s) before attempting to install any OS, you might have to update first.

Usually there is a "Diag" disk along with the OS copy. Xou can boot from that and check the hardware with the diagnostics routines there.

I hope this helps.

bakunin

Thanks for the link, its starting to make a bit more sense now. The menu I was in was like ILO on an HP server.

I'm assuming that if I can get the server "powered on" (If there is an OS on there already) then I will get a login prompt at the console rather than the menu I currently get? I have the serial cable plugged into 5 (serial 1) and I'm guessing all video output will come out of that port?

I had to buy the aix 5.2 from ebay and only got the 7 cds. I looked online for 5.3 which is the version I really needed but couldn't find the software unless I subscribed to IBM.