i want to install linux on my computer, but worried about viruses

hi guys,

I am new to linux. I want to install it on my home computer. I have a few questions.

1) if an exploit is found on linux, how long is it before it gets patched up? My worry is that because there are not many linux users, if a big is found, then it will be a long time before others become aware, leaving my machine vulnerable for a long time

2) what is the recommended free linux for a newbie

3) windows automatically recognises all my hardware. Will linux recognise it too? How about my printer - the CD is for Mac and Windows, what would I do for linux?

thanks

Let's see if I can answer some of your questions:

1. Depends. Since Linux isn't made by a company, but a whole load of volunteers, there isn't a fixed response time. Generally, you'll have to differ between project/upstream response time (those who write/wrote the software where a bug is found) and distribution response time (time between a fix and it's availability in the repository).

So far, the most horror stories about break-ins on Linux systems wasn't because there was no fix available, but because the administrator forgot to apply the fix. Notable exception: the Debian OpenSSL/OpenSSH bug, which went unnoticed for quite some time.
  2. For someone used to MS desktops: probably Mint, maybe Kubuntu or Fedora.
    If you aren't afraid of the command line, Ubuntu and a gradual switch to Debian.
    If you want to delve right in, Gentoo, Slackware, or LFS.

Others might have different suggestions, as it's pretty subjective.