Hung Port

Here's a difficult one for you.

I am on HPUX 11.0. I have a hung port, it is stuck in FIN_WAIT_2. Short of rebooting, how can I terminate the connection the system thinks still exists? I found a script online that uses adb but have not been able to get it to work. I am still open to using adb but have not been able to figure it out on my own, mostly becuase my background is Sun and HPUX is slightly different.:confused: :confused:

The usual reason for asking this question is that you want to restart a server but can't because you get a message "can't bind to port". There are adb scripts to close a FIN_WAIT_2 socket, I don't understand why you're having trouble with it. HP also has a program called ndd which can close a connection. But you shouldn't have to do this. Instead you address the real problem which is that the server has a bug that should be fixed.

There are two ways to ignore FIN_WAIT_2 sockets under unix. First, a program like inetd can do the bind at boot-up time and pass off new connections to the server as they arrive. Second, the server can simply set the SO_REUSEADDR option to indicate that it would prefer to ignore them.

You must have a server that does not want to run under inetd and it doesn't set SO_REUSEADDR. Ask whoever wrote the server to fix that. It takes one line of code to set SO_REUSEADDR and then you will have no more problem.

Thanks for the insight. I will see if I can get the program changed, which I am sure will take some time. In the mean time I will keep working the the adb script and check out ndd. If anyone has tips on adb troubleshooting, let me know.

I think ndd is for tuning only. You can use it to change timeout thresholds and things like that, but you can't use it to clear a port that has been left open to my knowledge. Anyone know how if this IS possible?

Wha't up Doeboy, Long time no see :slight_smile: