HPUX & Top Command

Hello,

I'm a newbie to HPUX so please be patient :slight_smile:

I'm looking at top and it only shows 3 of the 8 cpu's: 0 4 and 5. But the box has 8 cpu's according to the 'machinfo' command.

There are 4 processes using 10% "%CPU" each but it shows the box as 90% idle...???

Also, I don't see any metric for the percent of time spent waiting for data on disk. We're running Oracle and I'm trying to evaluate how many ways parallel we can suitably run processes.

I'm accustomed to Solaris - can anyone shed some light on this?

Thank You! :slight_smile:

Never seen that one before.

On my HPUX it show average across all processors not a total idle

Try using 'glance' instead of top, it shows Current, Average and high usage.

I'm glad to hear it's not just me. I wonder if top only showing certain cpu's is a sign that something is wrong.

We're on version: B.11.23 and
"glance" doesn't seem to be available:

$ which glance
no glance in w/bin /usr/ccs/bin /usr/openwin/bin /usr/bin /usr/ccs/bin /usr/contrib/bin /usr/contrib/Q4/bin /opt/hparray/bin /opt/nettladm/bin /opt/fcms/bin /usr/contrib/kwdb/bin /usr/bin/X11 /opt/graphics/common/bin /opt/upgrade/bin /opt/ipf/bin /opt/cfg2html /opt/resmon/bin /opt/wbem/bin /opt/wbem/sbin /opt/sas/bin /opt/sec_mgmt/bastille/bin /opt/dsau/bin /opt/dsau/sbin /opt/firefox /opt/gnome/bin /opt/ignite/bin /opt/mozilla /opt/perl/bin /opt/sec_mgmt/spc/bin /opt/ssh/bin /opt/hpsmh/bin /opt/thunderbird /opt/gwlm/bin /opt/sfm/bin /usr/contrib/bin/X11 /usr/local/bin w/bin

On mine glance is in /opt/perf/bin/glance

Thank you - I checked /opt/perf/bin/glance but it's not there. Oh well, thanks anyway! :slight_smile:

Hiya,

I do not think that glance is inbuilt stuff and we do need to install it..

I'm kinda with a server issue here, however, below thread of our forum would help you I guess..

-DB

Thank you very much for that! :slight_smile:

Hi mj62,