HP-UX Filesystem backup/restore?

:confused:

Hi Guys,

I'm not new to UNIX but I am new to HP-UX. I have a proven backup and restore procedue using cpio on Solaris, however, the filesystem structure appears to be different on HP. Can anybody help me with the following questions?

1) What is the best method for performing a full UNIX backup on HP-UX? backup/fbackup/cpio?

2) I am using vxfs on HP 10.20 on a K-Class 9000. Which filesystems need to be backed up? I can see that /tmp appears as a logical volume like the other filesystems, does /tmp need to be backed up?

3) Can anybody point me in the direction of a proven restore procedure as I am not sure which filesystems are auto-mounted on boot of HP-UX and whether or not a bootblk has to be built?

Note: I have searched this site and the docs.hp site to no avail, so I apologise if this is obvious to everyone.

Thanks in advance.

A good backup for the OS can be made using the make_recovery
command. An example of execution is:

make_recovery -AC -d /dev/rmt/0m 

This command come with the Ignite, see the man page.

Regards. Hugo.

First, yes /tmp is just a regular filesystem on HP-UX. I don't think it need to be backs up. In fact, it really needs a cron job to clear it out.

Some physical volumes are boot physical volumes and they a BDRA (boot data reserved area) which is outside of any logical volume. The BDRA is similiar to a boot block, but more grandiose.

You need some way to recover from the loss of your boot disk. One way is to just re-install the OS, that will recreate the BDRA. Some people have a second boot disk.

I disagree with Hugo about Ignite. I wouldn't use it for true backups. But the make_recovery command will build a bootable tape. And when you boot the bootable tape, it can restore your boot disk. It is a great way to recover from the loss of your boot disk. I have also used it to clone a system.