How to read and Split a file?

Hi,

I have a .csv file which I want to split into smaller files as .csv format only

Thanks in advance.

There is a specific forum for 'emergency' or quick requests.

What have you tried?

1 Like

hi joyeg thanks for your reply
well i am new to scripting i require your assitance in splitting a file into multiple files.i request for your suggestion.. can you help me with the code

---------- Post updated at 08:51 AM ---------- Previous update was at 08:41 AM ----------

please help out guys thanks in advance

Start with (always) looking at the man pages.

man head
man tail
man split

By your luck, all the three man pages are very small (single page), and you can understand them very easily.
Please ask back if you have any confusion about understanding.

1 Like

thanks clx
but i need to read the file and then split it when i run automatically all the file format should be in csv

Show us your sample input and expected output.

1 Like

thanks

While we always encourage here to show the efforts and at least start trying something. This is the way to learn and also it will give us the feeling that we are not doing your work instead we are here to help you to get your work done.

Did you manage to look at the man pages I have posted earlier? Can you think the way you can use those commands to extract the first 100 lines and last 33 lines?

You can read the file with

while read eachline
do
 ## do your stuff with $eachline
done < your_file

You can apply your logic with incremental variable or something.
Think towards your solution.

1 Like

It could even be done without read with just the commands that clx suggested.. Is this homework?

yup head and tail command is working well for tis thank you

---------- Post updated at 05:43 AM ---------- Previous update was at 05:10 AM ----------

the head and tail for the firest and the last file is is working is uing the harcoding of the records but for the remaining it is not