How to optimize our tape backups ?

Hi, I am currently looking at how we can optimize and speed up our backups here. I am just a beginner operator and our system admin hardly knows anything (long term interim).

There is this particular TAR backup of DB backups that for a 10.5Gb amount of files, it takes 5 hours to do the backup on 5Gb tapes. For all our DB to be backed up and verified on tapes, it takes over a normal day shift (10 DB where 2 DB per servers and one tape drive per server).

I checked the drive and compression is ON. Sine we are on a 4.2 AIX, our TAR does not have compression options. I did a test where using compress, I managed to compress a 1.9Gb file that took 25min on disk.

What would you suggest checking to see what can be optimized/speeded up ?

I will be going on to work in 1.5hr (currently 17:30). So from there I could reply back with whatever infos you guys need (you may have to indicate how to get it first).

If you have a multiprocessor machine (which is most likely when you have a database server) you could do the following: pipe the output of tar to a gzip process, like the following command:

tar -cvf - <file-list> | gzip -9 > /some/file

The problem is the following: gzip is a single-threaded process (naturally). If you only issue the command as shown above you would use one single processor and the rest of the processing power would be idle.

Therefore you will have to determine the file sizes of the files to be backed up before and create as many instances of this process as you have processors, where you distribute the files as equally as possible and run these processes in parallel. This would utilize all the processors in your system and probably (since compressing is the most work-intensive task) drastically reduce the backup time. The following is a sketch of such a script:

no_of_procs=5
files[1]="file1 file2 file3"
files[2]="file4 file5 file6"
files[3]="file7 file8 file9"
files[4]="file10 file11 file12"