How to create a file contains millions of lines and each line has different datas?

I want to create a file contains millions of lines. The line format like this:

acnum$$123456$$+$$Tom$$111$$

fields separated by $$, field 1 and field 3 have only two options:acnum or crenum; + or -. field 4 can be any name or any letters. Other fields can be any fixed length digits. So, I want to create millions of lines and each line contains random data satisfied with the format.

Any attempts/ideas/thoughts from your side?

By merely counting up field 2 from 000000 to 999999 you can have 1 million different lines. Does that satisfy your needs or not, and why not?

I am a newbie, I have no clue. The best situation is some kind people get practised by helping me at the same time:D

Is that a homework question? Those should be posted in Homework & Coursework Questions using the correct form according to the forum rules.

what kind of question should be posted here? it's just a simple shell programming question. No help no speaking, thank you

acnum$$123456$$+$$Tom$$111$$

You may print 1 million of those fixed lines too, to get your result.

-------

The Choices:

• One gets help who's at least trying.
  • One gets more help who tries very hard.
  • One gets the job completely done by another person - without any trying - if another person is paid money.

What's your style?

Shell-Scripting Tutorials are dangerously fast growing in numbers throughout the internet. You must be really fast to close your browser tab before you are accidentically forced to read such a site.

(Or in other words: Use Google, you find a million sites which help you understand Shell Scripting).

1 Like

For your reference, here is what I tried:

a=acnum; c=crenum; p="+"; m="-"
for i in `seq 1000000`; do 
num1=$[ 1 + $[ RANDOM % 1000000 ]]; 
num2=$[ 1 + $[ RANDOM % 1000000 ]]; 
i=$(expr $num1%2); j=$(expr $num1%2); 
str=$(gpw 1 15); #you need gpw installed