How to clone an AIX 5.3?

Hello all,

I am trying to clone an entire aix 5.3 machine , not sure on the procedure.Can anyone help on what can be done ?Thanks

Hi Gull05,

You have a number of options, depending on the way the system was built. The simplest way would be to use the "mksysb" command, but this depends on the machine being in single user mode.

You don't actually say if the system is SAN attached or is it an LPAR, could really do with some additional information about the system here.

Regards

Gull04

Hello Gull04,

Sorry i am a newbie to whole aix , Can you explain the command on how i can find the details whether it is with LPAR or SAN.Thanks in advance.

Hi Gull05,

As to the "mksysb" command, you will find all the requisite information in the man pages. To access these, logon to the server and run the command man mksysb for the other information we require the following.

To identify the disk information run lsdev -Cc disk and to identify whether you are in an LPAR run "lparstat" from the HMC

Regards

Gull04

Hello Gull04 ,

Thanks a lot for that .

AIX # lsdev -Cc disk
hdisk0 Available  Virtual SCSI Disk Drive
hdisk2 Available  Virtual SCSI Disk Drive

lparstat command returned the below when tried from AIX itself

AIX#lparstat

System configuration: type=Shared mode=Capped smt=On lcpu=8 mem=13567 psize=8 ent=0.50

%user  %sys  %wait  %idle physc %entc  lbusy  vcsw phint
----- ----- ------ ------ ----- ----- ------ ----- -----
  1.2   0.6    0.1   98.1  0.01   2.2    2.6 2298033479 29970185

When lparstat command is issued from HMC,it returned the following,

lparstat
bash: lparstat: command not found

Can you please suggest how i can go further , also can you brief about the mksysb command for me please.Thanks