How to check password expiration date of particular user?

Hi Guys,

I am new to HP-UX and want to find expiration date of particular user please also note i don't have root access on that server.

for e.g.
i have user abc on my HP box and want to know when its password going to expire and also when its password changed last time.

I also try to locate /etc/shadow file but unable to locate on server.

Thanks in advance for any help !!!

Regards,
Yasin Rakhangi.

1 Like

Hello Yasin Rakhangi,

Welcome to forum, kindly use code tags for commands/codes/Inputs which you are using in your posts.
Could you please use following command and let us know if this helps.

passwd -s "user_name"

Thanks,
R. Singh

-s option will require root, which the OP doesn't have access to.
It will work only for current user which is logged on, will not accept <username> as a parameter with Permission denied.

Also, on default HPUX boxes don't have /etc/shadow. You can install it.

Regards
Peasant.

hi Ravinder/Peasant,

Thanks for your reply.
I have tried suggested options but as commented by peasant it is not working below is the error.

$ passwd -s "user_name"

Password cannot be changed.  Reason: Cannot access protected password entry.

also i have tried without username

$ passwd -s

Password cannot be changed.  Reason: Cannot access protected password entry.

@Peasant,
Yes, I am logged in on system using same user for which i want expiry details.

Is there any other option available to find out?

Regards,
Yasin Rakhangi.

Without root, hardly.

Looks like a HP trusted system at the first glance.

My HP-UX is 11.11 :o and stores files in /tcb/files/auth with the various details you are after. The values are stored in seconds since the Epoch (00:00:00 on 1/1/1970)

The problem you will have is that without superuser access, you are not considered trustworthy enough to know this information.

One wonders why you need to know anyway. Can you enlighten us?

Regards,
Robin