How to call a shell script from a perl module which uses Filehandle to login

Hi Guru's,

Pardon me for the breach of rules.....

I have very little knowledge about Shell Programming and Scripting hope you guys help me out of this troble

I have very little time hence could not find the right way to direct my queries.

coming to the problem

I need to call a shell script from a perl module which uses Filehandle to login...

this is how the Code looks like

# package SFTP PUT_APEX
package SFTP_PUT_APEX;
# package SFTP PUT_APEX
package SFTP_PUT_APEX;
# Use the following Perl SFTP Libraries
use Net::SFTP::Foreign;
use File::Copy;
# Set generic components lib path
use lib ("$ENV{'BATCH_CODE'}/generic_components");
# Include the ERROR_FILE component
use ERROR_FILE;
# sub FTP PUT batch component
sub sftp_put {
        # Get the parameters passed from the Batch Holder
        my ($date_time, $CONFIG_FILE_PATH, $SFTP_RENAME_APEX, $FILENAME) = @_;
        # Open the configuration text file in which all the environment variables are stored
        open (CONFIG, $CONFIG_FILE_PATH) or return CallingError(ERROR_FILE::errorMethod($date_time,$CONFIG_FILE_PATH, $BATCH_ID = "NO_ID", $ERROR_COMPONENT =
 " $hash{'ERROR_COMP_FTPPUT'}", $ERROR_STATUS = "N", $ERROR_CODE = "FEAPP6000", $ERROR_SHORT = "Could not Open file", $ERROR_DESC = "Could not open the confi
guration file located: $CONFIG_FILE_PATH", $SEVERITY = "10"));
        # Put all the data in the configuration file into an array
        @data = <CONFIG>;
        # Loop through each line of the file that holds the variables
        foreach $var_line (@data) {
                # If the current line in the data is a variable
                if( $var_line =~ /(.+)\s+(.+)/ ) {
                        # Store in hash table
                        $hash{ $1 } = $2;
                }
        }
        # Open the file where the username is stored