How to BackUp Solaris 5.8 OS ?

Hi All,
How do I BackUp SOLARIS 5.8 (SPARC) OS so that I can re-install again on some other Hard Disk Drive in case of emergency ?

Use the flar command.

Thank You for the help.
As I am a newbie in the UNIX world, can you be a little more elaborate in the appropriate usage of this command ? As I have to take a backup of Solaris OS (for the 1st time) I do not want to run into any kind of fatal incident with the OS :slight_smile:
Just wanted to be safe.

do a little investigation for yourself... have a look at the manpages of the mentioned command and maybe do a little google. there isn't THE command. flar is a tool and you have to use it depending on your environment...

Parallely, I am doing the investigation. But, thought that some experience people on Solaris domain could help me nailing down faster which would avoid any obvious mistake(s) while using this tool.

BTW, this link throws some light - Creating a Solaris Flash Archive (Examples) (Solaris 10 Installation Guide: Solaris Flash Archives (Creation and Installation)) - Sun Microsystems

Can't use ufsdump ?

how do you use this dump in case of emergency?

I use fssnap and ufsdump for regular backups by way of Amanda. I have run trials of recovering a system from ufsdumps. Boot off CDROM, plumb network interface, temporarily open up rsh between the two machines on our local private network, and do a ufsrestore from a remote tape drive. Instructions for all of that are in the Systems Administration documentation collection for Solaris on docs.sun.com. If you have a local tape drive, of course, it is slightly easier. I actually had to do the disaster recovery for an E450 running Solaris 8 using a remote tape drive a few years ago. It worked.