How to add nodev for /dev/shm partition in Linux using shell script?

Hi,
Please guide me how to add nodev option for /dev/shm partition.

I am new to scripting and looking to do via command line.

Thanks
Litu

Hi,

To do this from the command line, you will have to use the mount command, it will be something like.

mount -t tmpfs -o remount,nodev /dev/shm

But this will be OS specific and you will need to do this as the root user.

A good place to start will be;

cat /etc/fstab

That will give you some information and you should be able to get the rest using;

man mount

Regards

Dave

Actually, I think that the OP wants to alter /etc/fstab via a shell script to make this change permanent. I had to make a similar change because our security auditors requested it. In my case i had to modify our kickstart file so that "nodev,nosuid,noexec" was added to /dev/shm during the OS installation. What I did was:

awk ' $2=="/dev/shm" { $4=$4",nodev,nosuid,noexec" ;} 1' < fstab  > fstab.new
cp fstab.new fstab
rm fstab.new

There were other, similiar changes to other file systems. I gave each one it's own paragraph. This makes it easy to modify later. That awk statement is very easy to understand which means that I don't need to waste time explaining code to an auditor who is reviewing my kickstart.

Hi Perderabo,

Inclined to agree with you having had a second look at the original post, the being new to scripting is actually a clue I realise now.

Regards

Dave

Hi Perderabo/ gull04,

Thanks for the response. I will try this out and update this thread. I am using RHEL 5 and RHEL 6 Version.

Hopefully, gu1104's solution will work. currently we are avoiding use of awk command as we have huge no (in thousands)of servers and doing it so via scripting may impact performance.

Hi Litu1988,

If your infratructure will stand the scripting, that is the way to go - hand editing "(in thousands)" of /etc/fstab files will be a real pain.