How do I install files in Linux?

Ok, I have downloadet a program frome the internet, before you ask and flame me yes I am a noob. But thats not the problem. My problem is. How do I install it so I can run it in the terminal window.

The file is .tgz and when i extract it I get a folder with lots of "c" documents and that sorts. I know the basic of programing in Windows. With that I mean the language c++, c# and VB 6.0 and .NET

But in Linux !!! I am blank. I did youst start to try to learn it. The verson I am runing is named sabayon not ubuntu as most people do. But I guess that dosent matter the way to install files are well bascliy the same right?

Thanks for all the help. And I am sorry if I have taken your time with something that was only some pice of trash.

Try this.

./configure
make
make install

Let me know.

Prashant,

For additional information, a majority of applications like that have a README file which has notes about the application and a file called INSTALL which has instructions on how to create the binary. You should make a habit of reading the README file and always read the INSTALL file in case you need to ensure other things are present or the correct switches are used for the configure script.

Carl

BOFH you are right :slight_smile:

Prashant,

Windows depends on Visual Studio for development, for the most part. UNIX uses makefiles, which are kind of batch-files on steroids. The usual series of steps in compiling a program:

• ./configure
    This file checks out your system and creates an appropriate makefile. You can give it various options on things like where to install to. See ./configure --help for details.
  • make
    This searches for a makefile in your current directory, finds it, and executes it's default target, namely the program.
  • make install