Hobbyist looking for AIX 5.3 licensing advice...

Hello. I'm a hobbyist who likes to buy old(er) machines on eBay then play around with them (hardware and software). My current project is an IBM RS/6000 43p-150. It came with AIX 5.3 pre-installed, no media or licenses or documentation of any kind. One of the things I like to do is run various benchmark applications, both commercial and stuff I've writing (mainly in C). I installed gcc on the system but I can't do some of the stuff I want because libm.a is not part of gcc, it is part of the commercial OS/SDK from IBM. So I went looking through IBM websites and literature and it appears that I would need to get a license for 5.3, and perhaps I indirectly have one by the fact that I now own an IBM RS/6000 and AIX would have been included with it (but probably not the development kit). So I then attempted to ask IBM about how to get properly licensed so I can download what I need. I was then told AIX 5.3 is no longer supported so even if licensed the software would not be available. So I'm kind of stuck. Anybody have an IBM rep who is friendly, patient and able to help with older equipment/software? This obviously won't be a big "sale" so I think that's why I'm not having a lot of luck getting IBM to engage. Thanks in advance for any pointers!

If you can wait sometime beginning next year, I may have something...
I had to remove all my stuff from work, and filled 18 boxes... and now resting at the end of my garage, only I am lightly disabled an cannot lift or carry anything at the moment, I remembered having packed my CDs of Bull Aix 5.3 with extras as I was in charge of the Bull escalas series...
I did work on a 43P 19years ago, it was the console of our SP2 hehe

2 Likes