hi all please help me in this issue.

Hi all,
I am very new to shell scripting.I have the requirement like
one program is there, if it is running leave like that only and if it is stopped it has to be restart and once again keep watching and it is stopped we a have to restart once agian.I want a shell script for this.Please help me in this.

This is an urgent one.Thanks in advance.

Hello,

Per our forum rules, all threads must have a descriptive subject text. For example, do not post questions with subjects like "Help Me!", "Urgent!!" or "Doubt". Post subjects like "Execution Problems with Cron" or "Help with Backup Shell Script".

The reason for this is that nearly 95% of all visitors to this site come here because they are referred by a search engine. In order for future searches on your post (with answers) to work well, the subject field must be something useful and related to the problem!

In addition, current forum users who are kind enough to answer questions should be able to understand the essence of your query at first glance.

So, as a benefit and courtesy to current and future knowledge seekers, please be careful with your subject text. You might receive a forum infraction if you don't pay attention to this.

Thank you.

The UNIX and Linux Forums

while [ 1 ]
do
   #run your process in background 
   process argument &
   wait $!
   sleep 1
echo 'Restarting'
done

Its working .Thank you very much for ur valuable reply.
Regards,
Vijay

---------- Post updated at 08:07 AM ---------- Previous update was at 08:05 AM ----------

Hi,
Slight modification in my requirement, I want in the code that if the process is killed or aborted when the process is running, It should restart at that time also.
The signals are as below:

switch\(signum\)\{
 case SIGHUP:      return "JVM hangup";
			       break;
 case SIGINT:      return "JVM interrupted";
			       break;
 case SIGQUIT:     return "JVM Quit";
			       break;
 case SIGILL:      return "Illegal instruction";