Help with script, shutdown if no ping responce

Hi, i would like to create a script that shuts down the system if the power fails, basicly the solaris box would load the script at startup.

Ping 192.168.1.100 every 20 secs
If cannot get responce 3 times in a row send init 0 to the system.

Simple but effective, as 192.168.100.1 wont be on the ups backup, so the solaris system will know the power is down and it will shutdown.

Im sure it wont be hard to do im just new to unix, could someone help me with this?

anyone? :frowning:

Erm........

If I am reading this right.....you want to send a shutdown command to a machine, the power to which, has failed. If the power has failed the machine will be dead in the water and not be able to respond to *any* commands.

Have you described your requirement clearly and accurately as at present, unless I have badly misread it, it doesn't make a whole hep of sense

I have a unix machine which is on a UPS with only about 15mins battery life, what i would like to happen is the unix machine shutdown safely if the power fails. The way i want to do it, would have the unix machine ping my cable modem every 20 secs, which is not on the UPS, so if the ping was to have no responce the modem would probably be off, which means the power would have failed.

I would like the unix machine to shutdown if it cant contact the cable modem 3 times in a row via ping.

#!/bin/sh

while true
do
      sleep 300
      REBOOT=/usr/bin/true
      for d in a b c
      do
            if /usr/sbin/ping cable-ip
            then
                 REBOOT=/usr/bin/false
                 break
            fi
      done
      if $REBOOT
      then
             shutdown -g 1 -y -i 5
      fi
done

or better still, remove outer while loop and install as cron job.

Note, Solaris "ping" works quite differently to other platform pings.

Thanks! would this work with solaris 10?

Give it a go.... :slight_smile: