Grep issue

Hi Guys,

I am new to shell scripting. Need help on grep command. I had a file called file.log which contain below statements.

12 Nov 2013 14:12:17,756 INFO security - Userid: raja, Saved File Instance, Name: [SEIBEL], Registry: [RMV]
23 Nov 2013 14:14:11,777 INFO security - Userid: raja, Saved File Entry, Instance Name: [SEIBEL2], Entry Name: [RM_TO_RI857],Registry:
[RMV]
23 Nov 2013 14:14:11,777 INFO security - Userid: raja, Deleted File Entry, Instance Name: [SEIBEL2], Entry Name: [RM_TO_RI857],
Registry: [RMV]

In these i need to grep for 2 patterns "Saved" and "Deleted" and i need to copy the entire line(Not only the word) and append into a new file and need to send email. I tried the below but it doesnt work. Can some one help me please???

#!/bin/ksh
List=~/vinoth/scripts
cd /u/vgomu/scripts
grep -q "Saved" file.log && grep -q "Deleted" file.log > logs
if [ $? -ne 0 ]
then
mailx -s  "***ALERT File ENTRY HAS BEEN MODIFIED******" `cat $List/MailList`
echo 'mail sent' >> logsmail.txt
exit
fi

Your help is much appreciated!!!

/Thanks

Please provide us the error, we can help you

Hi SriniShoo,

There is no error its creating a empty file logs(0 byte file). Instead i need the entire line to be copied to the file and same has to be sent o mails.

/Thanks

You are using the -q option on the grep's , which means "no output" . Another matter is, how you are going to capture the return code of the two commands and the > is overwriting the content every time grep is run, append instead:

So are you trying to do something like this:

if grep -E 'Saved|Deleted' file.log >> logs
then

--
Or do you want to run the second grep only when the first grep finds something and so the lines with "Saved" so not make it to the logs, as is the case now:

if grep -q "Saved" && grep "Deleted" file.log >> logs
then

Hello,

You should put $? -eq 0 in spite of $? -ne 0 , please try that and let us know.

EDIT:
you can use awk for searching patterns.

Thanks,
R. Singh