Folder level size monitoring

Hi All,

I have a requirement to monitor the sub-directories under /home in a way that if the the folder size increases by 30 GB in a span of like an hour then it needs to send email alerts listing what as the actual size was and what's the current size which the subject listing the sub-directory name. Can anyone help me with this script. It's a redhat server. Have tried few scripts from this and all give some or the other error which I cannot comprehend since I am totally totally new to scripting.

Thanks,

Not tested .. this code is just for this scenario ..

while [ 1 ]
do
        find /home -type d -size +30000000 -print > find_contents
        [ -s "find_contents" ] && mailx -s "Directories having 30GB more size" abc@xyz.com < find_contents
        sleep 3600 ## sleep for 1 hr
done

Hi Jayan,

Thanks for the script. I need to convert this into a bash script...how do I do that?

Regards

Put the above code in a file and run it ...

If you are looking for differences since last run of over 30Gb rather than just current size, you could probably write a process using the output from the du command, assuming that it is available in your OS.

Depending how you want to monitor, you could try something like (in ksh):-

#!/bin/ksh

current_file=/tmp/current    # Pick what you like here
previous_file=/tmp/previous

mv $current_file $previous_file
du -ks /home/* > $current_file
paste $previous_file $current_file | while read prev_size dir1 curr_size dir2
do
   ((delta_size=$curr_size-$prev_size))
   if [ $delta_size -gt 3072000 ]    # I think that this is 30Gb~ish
   then
      # Take some action
   fi
done

Does that help?

Robin
Liverpool/Blackburn
UK

Hi Jayan,

Have tried you code....but when I run it....it seems that that code does not stop running. After running...it does not give me back the shell prompt. Not sure whether I am doing it wrong here.

Hi Robin,

I will test you code and let you know.

Thanks

Shailesh6,