Editing long records with characters that need to be escaped.

Hi all,

I'm new in unix scripting and I've a problem with a script... :confused:

I need to read a file, add some fields in the records, and write them in another file, but even when I simply read and write the records, the shell interprets some caracters and the result is that the records get splitted on multiples lines, loosing that characters.

For example:

for cur_line in `cat "$fil"`
do
echo "$cur_line"
done;

In each record I can find any type of special characters: like " ' & ; , and so on...

Maybe someone can help me... :frowning: I hope I've been clear enough, although my english...
Thank a lot.

Macs,

can u just put that sample file so that i can know where it's going wrong.

This could be an example of a record I have to work with:

2009-07-20 17:18:03.0,"15.134.13.45.13","XXXXXX","15.134.13.45.13","xxxxxxx.xxxxxxx.IT","PIN6","SQLPLUS","PFZ5","SELECT","SIP_JDSIS3_T","IFRI","='3435354454334'","select PfrfID_ID0, substr(IFRI,1,15) IFRI2, substr(ORIGINARY_IFRI,1,15) ""TO_CHAR(CAST((( TIMESTAMP '1970-01-01 00:00:00 GMT' + numtodsinterval(ROUND(CREATED_T), 'SECOND') ) at TIME ZONE 'MET') AS DATE), 'DD/MM/YYYY HH24:MI.SS') CREATED,  TO_CHAR(CAST((( TIMESTAMP '1970-01-01 00:00:00 GMT' + numtodsinterval(ROUND(CREATION_DATE), 'SECOND') ) at TIME ZONE 'MET') AS DATE), 'DD/MM/YYYY HH24:MI.SS') CREAT_DATE,  TO_CHAR(CAST((( TIMESTAMP '1970-01-01 00:00:00 GMT' + numtodsinterval(ROUND(MOD_T), 'SECOND') ) at TIME ZONE 'MET') AS DATE), 'DD/MM/YYYY HH24:MI.SS') from SIP_IFR03_T where IORI='3653453437941'","1"

I read it from a csv file in UNIX format.
The result of the simple script example I posted before is that this informations are printed in multiple lines... and some caracters are disappearing, so I have no possibility to work with it...

I really have no idea......

Thank you!

---------- Post updated at 03:00 PM ---------- Previous update was at 02:56 PM ----------