Compare two files with different number of records and output only the Extra records from file1

Hi Freinds ,

I have 2 files .

File 1

|nag|HYd|1|Che
|esw|Gun|2|hyd
|pra|bhe|3|hyd
|omu|hei|4|bnsj
|uer|oeri|5|uery

File 2

|nag|HYd|1|Che
|esw|Gun|2|hyd
|uer|oi|3|uery

output :

|pra|bhe|3|hyd
|omu|hei|4|bnsj

file2 may contain some difference but the output should be only the lines which are present in file1 and not present in file2

Please help friends. I am very new to Shell scriting

I used

Comm -23

command but i didnt get the exact output.

Please help :(:frowning: :frowning:

fgrep -v -f file2 file1
1 Like

Hi itKamaraj,

Thanks so much for the quick reply. I tried your command and got he results as below.

file1.txt

|hyd|che|1|2
|jun|out|2|1
|lok|ter|3|6

file2.txt

|hyd|che|1|2
|jun|out|3|1

Actual Output :

|jun|out|2|1
|lok|ter|3|6

Expected Output:

|lok|ter|3|6

Here if i use frep -v -f i am getting the output where i have difference . The expected output should not contain the difference lines it should cntain only the extra lines

Thanks in advance. please help.

Hi

As per your requirement, the expected output should also contain "|uer|oeri|5|uery".  comm -23 should get this for you.

Guru.

1 Like

@OP: It seems to me that you are looking for a solution where not all columns are significant, but then you would need to tell us which columns determine whether records are "equal" .

1 Like

@Scrutinizer, sorry i think i have confused you. let me explain in detail .

Expected Output:

I want to compare 2 files let say file1.txt( record count 4) and file 2.txt ( record 3 count) .

file1 :

|hyd|che|1|2
|jun|out|2|1
|lok|ter|3|6
|ing|tut|4|8

file2.txt

|hyd|che|1|2
|jun|out|3|1
|ing|tut|4|8

i want to compare 2 files line by line. the Expected output should contain the lines which are present in file1.txt but not in file2.txt. if i use command comm -23

|jun|out|2|1
|lok|ter|3|6