Career advice: Solaris & SUN support

I'm looking for career advice here.

I've been working as a support engineer for Sun partners for 2 years now, and I worked with a lot of servers, tape libraries, and SAN storage. I have also done a lot of server installations and gone to a lot of trainings.

Now, I'm offered to do Solaris administration on-site. I'm afraid that managing one site (it's a bank) servers will not give me good experience, specially that the environment is stable, with only some database and application developments. I will be handling Solaris operating system on 20 servers..or less.

Can anyone advice ? which career has better future ?

I would prefer to be as a Solaris System Admin.

Solaris Admin is better option.

i've gone from support to admin and back to support... i think this is a "taste" thing and you have to choose!

The thing is, with support I get to deal with more systems, and I get more exposure and more work.

With on site admin...you will handle the same systems, and the environment is kind of stable..I'm afraid of not getting good experience ? or do you have suggestions on how to get good experience while handling one site (solaris admin) ?

I thought cross-posting was against the rules.

ok, I will delete my post on the other section

Edit:

I dont have permission to delete my post, please any forum admin delete my post there. I want it in the sun - solaris section, here it obviously gets more attention

please use the "report" button if you find crosspostings. thank you!

the other post ist closed!

Thanks Duke

I was just curious because the OP before it was edited, stated it was a cross post and even had a link to it.

back to the topic at hand...