Can't successfully clone an HDD in Ubuntu, please help

Hi guys, I am total newbie to Linux / Ubuntu but trying it to solve the problem I have.
I have an OKI printer with bad HDD and trying to clone one from the same HDD from working printer. Board it goes on has a Fiery chipset and system used is Linux based / related - to the best of my knowlege. I was using dd and ddrescue to clone the 2.5 inch 20GB HDD but got a message "Unauthorized software" when installed the drive.
I had formatted/partitioned the destination drive in exact same manner as original
and used dd to clone - but did not work, Any pro's - please some advice.
Thank you.
Roman.

The software may be keyed to the serial number it reads from the device. Maybe there is a way to update the license.

Which? Did you format and partition it -- or did you clone it with dd?

You should be able to clone the partitions and everything in one operation. Don't give it sda1, just sda, and so forth. dd if=/dev/original of=/dev/new conv=noerror,sync

Thank you for advice - will take a shot at it as you proposed. Please understand that knowing really nothing I was trying my luck in every possible way. I had even copied boot sector separatelly in addition to Just dd_ing to clean HDD or DD-ing with partitiones predetermined. As my reseach showed - It was suppose to give me a 100% clone so no issues with licence etc. - I guess that would be too easy than huh? In my 34 for a second I had allowed myself to believe that magic exist. Figures if OKI (the manufactured of the printer) wants about $700 for a really $40, 40Gb HDD they would put a wrench in so it can't be just copied. But as a wise man said- for every screw with a tricky tread there is a nut with the same tricky tread :slight_smile:
Thank you for trying to help me - will post upon success or absence of such.
Roman.

---------- Post updated at 10:49 PM ---------- Previous update was at 10:46 PM ----------