cannot telnet/ftp to solaris machine by straight cable makes problem ..

Hi All,

1. modify /etc/default/login file as

make commented # console=

2.put my laptops ip at both

/etc/inet/ipnodes and /etc/host file

still i can login via telnet/ftp through a DB9-serial cable, but when i tried
through a lan stratight cable directly connected that machine to my laptop;
cannot do. this is ultra A25 machine runned with solaris10.

please makes me ensure , where i am wrong. i am a newbie here.. I also got another suggestion as follows. is this okay?

-------------------------------------
By default , the solaris inetd deamon does not log the IP address of the machines that are connecting to Solaris Server . To enable the logging of all the IP addresses of machines connecting to the server and the connection time the following changes can be incorporated

1. cd /etc/init.d

2. vi inetsvc

3. Change the last line in the file, ie
    /usr/sbin/inetd -s &
    to /usr/sbin/inetd -s -t &

4. Stop and Start that script

./inetsvc stop
./inetsvc start

1. vi /etc/syslog.conf
    6 . Add the following line
    deamon.notice /var/adm/name_of_log_file ( the two fields should be seperated by tabs )

2. touch /var/adm/name_of_log_file

3. kill -HUP syslogd

After these changes are made all connections that are started through the inetd deamon ( Telnet , FTP ) etc will be logged to the new file created

This is also very useful for auditing purposes with NTP protocol enabled which gives us a consistent time throughout the enterprise, accountability can be implemented in the organisation.

you can not use a serial cable with telnet! if your laptop runs with solaris try "tip" for serial connections. under windows is a program named "hyperterm".

i use teraterm/secureCRT.

I just need idea about how I can connect via ftp/telnet through direct LAN connection from my laptop to that solaris machine.

thanks cordially for usefull update.