Cannot get terminal application to launch with a graphical launcher when successful in terminal

I have been having an extremely annoying problem. For the record, I am relatively new at this. I've only been working with unix-based OS's for roughly two years, mostly Xubuntu and some Kali. I am pretty familiar with the BASH language, as that's the default shell for debian. Now, I've made this BASH script that works properly when it is accessed through the virtual console, xfce4-terminal 0.6.3. I've created a symbolic link in /bin to access the script from any directory, as most people do, I think. This is the script itself, designed to connect to WiFi access point from a CLI or virtual terminal.

#!/bin/bash

# WiFi Commander, a lazy way to lazily connect to the WiFi

# Updated: 2-2-16, version 1.6

# This script requires that nmcli, w3m, and w3m-img (if
 # you want to be able to see pictures), are all installed
 # on the computer running it

DDG="www.duckduckgo.com"

Cmdr () {
echo; echo "WiFi Command??"; echo
read command
}

test () {
echo; ping -c 1 $DDG
if [ "$?" -eq "0" ];
then echo; echo "Connection Successful."
else echo; echo "Connection Unsuccessful."
fi
}

interweb () {
echo; w3m $DDG
if [ "$?" -eq "0" ];
then echo " ";
else echo; echo "You are not connected to the internet."
fi
}

menu () {
echo; echo "Command Menu:"; echo
echo "S: Scan for WiFi"
echo "CTN: Connect to new WiFi"
echo "C: Connect to a Saved Connection"
echo "T: Test Connection"
echo "D: Disconnect from WiFi"
echo "VC: View Saved Connections"
echo "DelCon: Delete a Saved Connection"
echo "LB: Launch Browser (W3M)"
echo "SM: Show this Menu"
echo "E: Exit"
}

echo; echo "Welcome to WiFi Commander."; sleep .75

menu

while true; do

Cmdr

if [[ "$command" == S ]] || [[ "$command" == s ]];
then echo; echo $(iwlist scan | grep -E "Quality|Signal level|Encryption key|ESSID"; echo);
elif [[ "$command" == CTN ]] || [[ "$command" == ctn ]];