Can not login to CDE -- only Fail Safe Session permitted

Hi,
I am a hobbyist with a very old machine I have been trying to get up and running. I have an HP 9000/C240 with 1G of RAM and 3-8.5G HD. It is configured with 1G SWAP/DUMP. Currently only one drive is in use via LVM. I have not gotten around to creating more volumes just yet.

It is running HP-UX B.10.20A 900/782 two user license
This is a new install, and I am open to installing again. The problem I have is that when I try to login as root into CDE a core dump is produced after splashing the copyright information and the system immediately logs me back out. I can login to Fail Safe Session and run SAM just fine.

The system is configured on a network, and when it boots nothing is failing. When I login Fail Safe mode I can ping addresses on the Internet just fine.
Previously I had installed the OS with no networking. When I had done this I could login to CDE just fine using a wide number of accounts and shells.
I noticed that when I login as root using the Fail Safe Session, who reports that root is logged in twice, once as console and once as PTS/0 the console session is just idle.

I have created other accounts using SAM and then attempted to login to one of them, in all cases I have to use a Fail Safe Session.
I am interested in hearing thoughts regarding what can cause the system to produce the core file and then prevent me from logging in. Could it be the wrong terminal type? I am not sure how to check but I have an HP A4331D monitor on the machine.

I am very new to UNIX administration so please be specific when you ask me what the log files say.

Thank you in Advance,

Respectfully,

Dirk

Greetings,