Can I use both of TCP/IP 10/100 and 100/1000?

Hi all!

I am a DBA, and a newbie on Solaris OS. Recently, my Database have been being retrieved many queries by many sessions. Of course, as a DBA, I must tune it. It's normally to tune.

And I found that, the V890 SPARC has 2 network cards, both of them using TCP/IP. One is 10/100 and one is 100/1000. The comany's network infrastructure, fortunately, supporting all of. Therefore, I think that if I configure the machine to use both of them, it may increase the performance.

Would you like to guide me to configure?

Thank you!

How do you know your maxing out the bandwidth now?

One GigE interface should be plenty. You will hit other bottlenecks before you max that out.

And the answer is no. You should not mix and match ethernet speeds for a database server. Either use 1, or 2 at the same speed.

Thanks for reply!

And if I do not use eri0 - the TCP/IP 10/100 now, remove it to use the GigE interface? Must I reinstall OS?

You can shift from one NIC to another, but it will require an outage:- a reboot, not a reinstall.
It could be as simple as editing the /etc/hostname.eri0, and rebooting, BUT DON'T JUST DO THAT, because it probably isn't!
Before doing anything, you would need to confirm that the networking (ie. routing) is set up to allow the other interface.
There is also the matter of setting the port speed - is the network convention auto-negotiate, or what.
Further, your kernel may not have the appropriate drivers installed/configured.
Basically this is a job for a Sys Admin.

By anyway, thanks for responding!
There is no such System Administrator to help me, I must resolve by myself. My Boss said that "You must complete it before 05/05/2008".

you should really confirm that you have a bandwidth issue first. It takes a lot of concurrent database queries to max a 100mb/s interface.