Basic questions on writing a Unix Service (newbie help!)

Hi there.

I've got 12 years experience writing C++ on Windows, and 3 years C# on Windows. Now my boss wants me to write a C++ app to run on Unix as a multithreaded 'service' (i.e. a program that runs with no user intervention).

Some quick questions for The Experts:

• Whats the best C++ compiler to use? I'm happy with ANSI compliant stuff.
  • Whats the best editing/IDE environment to use? Please don't say VI as it's UI makes me ill. Something as close as possible to VS2005 would be nice :rolleyes:
  • Is there a special name for a service on Unix? :confused:
  • Where would I start in writing a TSR type app (i.e. one that runs in the background on Unix)

Some good 'Unix programming for beginners' literature/websites wouldn't go amiss either.

Thanks in advance!
Gizz. :slight_smile:

1. use POSIX (it's also ANSI) compliant compilers
  2. You can write code on a PC, then ftp it to UNIX. You will have to learn basic shell commands. In that mode I use UltraEdit.
    3.service=daemon
  3. You have to learn something about UNIX system calls (like Windows API) and UNIX processes in general.

This gives you a lot of background and is a free download:
http://www.advancedlinuxprogramming.com/
Don't worry too much about it being linux. 98% of the material works anywhere.

This shows how to write a service (daemon) read the "book" above first.
http://www.erlenstar.demon.co.uk/unix/faq_2.html\#SEC16

Thanks Jim, thats just about spot on! (Always wondered what a daemon was...!!!)

Best compiler is always subject to argument, but the freest, most common, and easiest to get is gcc.

The best development environment is not vi. I hate it as much as you do. ...I use nano. :stuck_out_tongue: