BASH Shell script - help with read

Hi all,

I'm sure this is quite a simple problem, but i'm completely new to shell scripting, so bare with me. Having problems with the read command. Here's what I have:

read -rp "Command to execute: " the_command
echo "$the_command"
eval "$the_command"

Now, say, for instance the user enters the command to execute as echo "this is a test" - all works fine... the echo shows the correct command and the eval executes the command, echoing "this is a test".

BUT... if the user enters the command as echo "this id a typeo" - they go back to correct the mistake so that it now reads echo "this is a typeo" - now the script errors. The echo shows the correct command, but the eval has a problem. Is it possible that the variable the_command is getting every keystroke (including backspaces) and not just the final string? Can someone please help out a newbie :slight_smile:

Cheers,
Justin

Please copy and paste your script on here with code tags. What you posted works fine on my Solaris machine.

#!/bin/sh
echo "$the_command"
eval "$the_command"

Here's what happens:

but now i enter the command as echo "cat" but realise it's supposed to be echo "ratty" so i use the left cursor and backspace to fix the typeo;

Eventually the script will be used to enter commands such as:
shake "c:\test\test.#.tiff" -t 1-100

The reason i need this to work is because I anticipate users will drag a file into the terminal to get the filepath, but will need to change the resulting filepath from "c:\test\test.tiff" to "c:\test\test.#.tiff" for the script to execute.

p.s. I should mention that i'm running the script through Cygwin on a Windows machine.

Does the script have to be run by sh? Have you tried running it with ksh or bash?

More generic version. Echo is echo and read is read.

echo -e "C.. execute:\c"
read the_command
# or read -r  # what you need ?  I think that editionkeys handling in read depends which shell you use. Why to use -r in this case ?