bash script for showing last users

Hi! I'm new in scripting and I need some help with one simple script. I have to write a program that shows in a predetermined period (using "last" command), to draw up a list of users who have used the machine during this period. Each user to indicate how many sessions it has been during this period. Output must be sorted alphabetically by usernames (increasing alphabetically).

The code should be something like???:

cat lastfile | cut -c1-8 | egrep -v '(^reboot)|(^$)|(^wtmp a)|(^ftp)' | sort | uniq -c | sort -rn

But how to I predetermine the period and sort alphabetically(increasing)?

Regards,
Vassu

---------- Post updated at 06:48 PM ---------- Previous update was at 01:12 PM ----------

Really nobody can help:confused:

1. sort by name

name occurs in the second field, so specify that field to sort.

sort -k 2
  1. What do you mean by predetermining ? Cant understand that.

I think you're going to have a significant challenge in doing this since you'll have to determine (for each entry) whether the session time range falls within the range you would be specifying. I think I'd convert all of the dates to seconds since epoch which would make your math a bit easier.

It means that user inserts some date [example input: Oct 26 11:00 - Oct 27 14.00] and script output shows all users, who have been logged in during this time, alphabetically. And shows how many sessions they have had in this period. Somehow it can be predetermined to show according to "date" field. Right now without script it shows like this:

frogger rubiin/wazzar> cat lastfile | cut -c1-8 | egrep -v '(^reboot)|(^$)|(^wtmp a)|(^ftp)' | sort | uniq -c | sort -k 1 | last -10
a72093   pts/6        172.17.1.42      Tue Oct 27 14:00   still logged in
wazzar   pts/4        218.255.196.88.s Tue Oct 27 13:55   still logged in
a72093   pts/15       172.17.1.42      Tue Oct 27 13:50 - 13:59  (00:09)
aller    pts/16                        Tue Oct 27 13:45 - 13:45  (00:00)