Bash Scipting (New); Run multiple greps > multiple files

Hi everyone,

I'm new to the forums, as you can probably tell... I'm also pretty new to scripting and writing any type of code.

I needed to know exactly how I can grep for multiple strings, in files located in one directory, but I need each string to output to a separate file.

So I'd imagine I'd make a separate text file with each string that I want to grep. ex:

food1
food2
food3

Then i would use a loop function to grep all files in directory /Desktop/Blah/*, and output to a file named "the string i grepped for".

I would greatly appreciate guidance on this, as loops confuse the hell outa me and i'm not sure what "x" means in the following:

for x in 'cat /Desktop/Blah/*'; grep 'point to strings file' ..........

Where would $x go? Any guidance is helpful. Thanks everyone....

-David

Just to give you an idea, here is a sample script:-

#!/bin/bash

for file in /Desktop/Blah/*              # For each file in directory: /Desktop/Blah/
do
        grep food1 $file >> food1.txt    # Grep for food1, redirect & append o/p to file: food1.txt
        grep food2 $file >> food2.txt    # Grep for food2, redirect & append o/p to file: food2.txt
        grep food3 $file >> food3.txt    # Grep for food3, redirect & append o/p to file: food3.txt
done

You could also use egrep if loops are confusing.

cat file | egrep '(food1|food2|food3)'

However, this may not be the format you want. Either way, knowing both methods will be good tools for later.

bipinajith, Azrael:

Thank you both for the replies. I understand very well the examples you have both posted. If we can make things a little more complex, but at the same time simple in regards to automating weekly tasks, that's the goal of mine...

Using the example code: