bash extract all occurences delimited from <name> and </name> tags from an xml file

I need to extract all text delimited from <name> and </name> tags from an xml file, but not only first occurence. I need to extract all occurences.
I've tried with this command:

awk -F"<name>|</name>" 'NF>2{print $2}'

but it give only first occurence. How can i modify it?

Tell awk the record separator is < so every tag is a different record to be filtered.

How i can do that? I'm not an expert with awk. If i use < as separator it identify also other tag and not only the text delimited by <name> </name> tags

Hi,
something like this,

sed 's/<name>/ /g;s/<\\name>/ /g'  inputfile

I've applied your suggested command to my xml file, but it doesn't show me only text between <name></name> tags. It shows the entire file.
I've applied it to this file h_tp://dl.dropbox.com/u/877248/info.xml
I need to obtain only a list.

Not very 'clean but working (with your sample) one:

sed -e 's/name>/\n/g' info.xml | grep '^[^<]*<\/' | cut -d'<' -f1

result in the attachement

If you want to do it with awk, try this:

awk '!/<.*>/' RS="<name>|</name>" file
tr '<' '\12' < file | sed -n 's/^name>//p'

Narrative: Turn all < into linefeed, then pipe to sed where the name tagged lines have the name> removed and print the result but not other lines.

#!/bin/bash
TMP=file.$$

cat <<EOT >$TMP
<header>
   <name>first name is Santa</name>
   <name>second name Klaus</name>
</header>
EOT

# Note - sed by default is greedy and removes up to last >
sed -n 's/\(<name>\)\([[:print:]]*\)<\/[^>]*>/\2/p' $TMP

rm $TMP

exit 0

gives

first name is Santa
  second name is Klaus

thanks to all for your precious help. All this script works good for me, but i think that this is the easiest command to use:

awk '!/<.*>/' RS="<name>|</name>" file

Note none used bash, as text processing is more the realm of sed and awk ! :smiley:

Maybe not the "shell scripting" answer you are looking for: