AWK to Parse XML messages

Hello Guys,

Please help with AWK problem. I have XML file which contains a list of messages for subjects.

Example of the messages:

[date+time], message=[DATA= �<?xml version=�1.0?�><data changeMsg><Subject=�English� Status=�P�>
[date+time], message=[DATA= �<?xml version=�1.0?�><data changeMsg><Subject=�Science� Status=�F�>
[date+time], message=[DATA= �<?xml version=�1.0?�><data changeMsg><Subject=�Science� Status=�F�>
[date+time], message=[DATA= �<?xml version=�1.0?�><data changeMsg><Subject=�Science� Status=�NA�>
[date+time], message=[DATA= �<?xml version=�1.0?�><data changeMsg><Subject=�English� Status=�P�>
[date+time], message=[DATA= �<?xml version=�1.0?�><data changeMsg><Subject=�English� Status=�F�>
[date+time], message=[DATA= �<?xml version=�1.0?�><data changeMsg><Subject=�Maths� Status=�P�>
[date+time], message=[DATA= �<?xml version=�1.0?�><data changeMsg><Subject=�Science� Status=�P�>

I want to use AWK to parse these xml messages but I am new to awk and to programming.

What I want is to get output of these messages to look like this.

Output

Subject|Status|Count
  English|P|2
  Science|F|2
  Science|NA|1
  English|F|1
  Maths|P|1
  Science|P|1

Please Help.

Thanks all for any help.

Is that what the data really looks like, or have you prettied it up for posting? That makes a big difference to awk.

No this is how the data really looks like

"smart quotes" and all? It looks like it's been through MS Word...

Of course it has been through MS Word, this is only a sample of the messages and secondly i have removed the date and the time.
So this have been edited on MS Word

Please post a representative sample of your data. Include timestamps. Don't mangle it in Word.