awk search pattern with special characters passed from CL

I'm very new to awk and sed and I've been struggling with this for a while.

I'm trying to search a file for a string with special characters and this string is a command line argument to a simple script.

./myscript "searchpattern" file

#!/bin/sh

awk "/$1/" $2 > dupelistfilter.txt
sed "/$1/d" $2 >> deletelisttest.txt

since the search pattern is a path with / and whitespace what's the best way to deal with special characters in the search pattern?
I have to do this in the original bourne shell which has no printf %q.

nested quotes throws an awk error at me even if I were to use eval to avoid the $1.

Any advice appreciated.

$ x="/tmp/tmp"
$ echo "/tmp/tmp121/" | awk ' $0 ~ "'"$x"'" '
/tmp/tmp121/

Hey, cue:

I would recommend against your awk/sed approach and I also recommend not using anbu23's code (nothing personal, anbu23 ;)). All of the proposed solutions are vulnerable to the presence of special characters (whether they be special to sed and awk regular expressions [cue's examples] or to awk strings [as in anbu23's case]).

You've already seen the problem with your attempts. Even if you escaped the forward slashes in the variable's value (or used a different delimiter, s#regexp#replacement#flag, which sed allows), you may still encounter problems if there is a "." or a "*" or any other metacharacter.

anbu23's would fail and throw syntax errors if a there's a double quote, will match erroneously if backslash sequences are present, etc, due to conflicts with AWK's string parsing.

Example:

$ x='/tmp/tmp"'
$ echo '/tmp/tmp"121/' | awk ' $0 ~ "'"$x"'" '
awk: non-terminated string  tmp/tmp ... at source line 1
 context is
         >>>  <<<
awk: giving up
 source line number 2

In my opinion, the best (most futureproof) approach is to use something not vulnerable to any magical characters. I suggest:

awk -v x="$1" 'index($0,x)' "$2" > dupelistfilter.txt

If you want to negate the logic of the match: