AWK delimiting

I have a directory of files DATA1,DATA2,DATA3, etc... each file has 1 column of data

Example:

File DATA1

name
date
time
time requested
approved

I need to change these to CSV files so I can import the data. I believe AWK is what i need but I'm new to AWK and can't seem to get the syntex correct.

awk -F , '{ print $1 }' DATA1 > DATA.TEST

can someone help me ???

I used to have this problem when transferring client lists to Foxpro or Excel.

You are going to have to run a for loop or some kind of loop. Do all of your data files have the same number of fields? I keep thinking of the "join" function of vi. I know you can join X lines with the command in command mode "7 J". This will join 7 lines together, space delimited which should be fine for your purposes or you can then use AWK to fill in commas.

OR try this.

Forgive me if the logic is wrong this was off the top of my head.
The ; is for a new record. You can then use AWK to break it out 1 record per line from there. I think there is a way to do a CRLF but I don't remember right now.

i=1
for name in `cat file`
do
if [$i -le 8 ]
awk '{ print $1 "," }' >> file.out
i=i+1
else
awk '{ print ";" }' >> file.out
i=1
done

I will have to research this, but you probably can figure it out from here.

////EDIT HERE:

That first attempt doesn' t seem to work. Here is something else I have tried.

#!/bin/ksh

for name in `cat todd`
do
for i in `1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8`
do
awk '{ print $name "," }' >> file.out
if [$i -eq 8]
then
awk '{ print ";" }' >> file.out
fi
done
done

Although I can't get it to work either... Heheh :slight_smile:

:slight_smile: :smiley:

If your files only have 1 set of name/date/time/time requested/approved entries then this will work.

If you have multiple lines i would put a counter in teh foreach loop to restart every 6th line.

#! /usr/bin/perl -w

$TESTFILE="test.file";
$OUTPUT="new.file";
open (INPUT, $TESTFILE) || die "NO GO ($!)";
open (OUTPUT, ">${OUTPUT}") || die "NO GO ($!)";